GMTA EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING MINUTES DRAFT

November 8, 2014 2:00 P.M. Music Education Building, Room 215 Clayton State University, Morrow, GA

President Robin Engleman called the meeting to order.

The following chairs were presented for approval: Arts Awareness & Advocacy - Debbie Murphy Certification - Ashley Craig-Diaz, NCTM College Faculty - Paula Thomas-Lee, NCTM Collegiate Chapters - Soohyun Yun, NCTM Finance/Advisory Committee - Susan Andrews, NCTM GMTA Awards - Heather Turner, NCTM Independent Music Teachers Forum - Annette Day, NCTM MTNA Foundation - Colette Keogh, NCTM Piano Judges List - Yumi Patterson, NCTM Technology - Joe Lozier Theory - Jason Bennett Website - Jonathan Klein

A motion was made by Betty White to accept these and a second was made by Jane Lester. The motion passed.

Mandy Reynolds was recognized for the excellent job she has done in preparation for and during our 2014 Conference.

MTNA President Ken Christensen was recognized and thanked for being at our Conference this year.

The Procedural Manual state that the GMTA dues will be increased by \$2.00 every two years. The Financial Advisory Committee met and presented a motion that there be no dues increase these next two years. The motion passed.

President Engleman announced that Greg McLean of Georgia Perimeter College has been invited to be the commissioned composer for the 2015 GMTA Conference. Susan Andrews made the motion that this be approved. Susan Mincey seconded the motion, which passed.

Debra Hughes made a motion that Rebekah Healan be added to the signature card at Bank of America. This motion was seconded by Colette Keogh and was passed.

The following announcements were made:

The MTNA Conference will be in Las Vegas in March. Mandy Reynolds has GMTA stationary if anyone needs it. November 30 is the deadline for sending articles for the GMTA Newsletter to Natalie Hardy. Members of the Executive Committee and Committee Chairs need to send their pictures and bios to Natalie Hardy and Jonathan Klein. The next Executive Committee meeting and Local Association Presidents' Meeting will be April 18 at the University of Georgia. The LAP's meeting begins at 10:00 AM and the Executive Committee meeting will begin at 11:15 AM.

President Engleman appointed a committee to review the policy concerning non GMTA members entering students in the GMTA Auditions. The Non-Member Auditions Committee consists of Betty Atkins, Jonathan Klein, and Cathy Thacker.

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jackie Reed,NCTM GMTA Secretary